1913 - 2000

1950 Sylvanus Albert Reed Award from the Institute of Aerospace Sciences

1954 Outstanding Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota

1960 Governor of the National Rocket Club

1961 Fellow of the American Astronautic al Society

1962 Honorary doctor of science from the University of Minnesota, Indiana Institute of Technology, and George Washington University
Louis W. Hill Space Transportation Award
NASA Distinguished Service Medal
Goddard Memorial Trophy of the National Rocket Club
Great Living American Award from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce
President’s Award for Distinguished Federal Civilian Service

1963 Honorary doctor of engineering from the Michigan Technological University

1965 Spirit of St. Louis Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

1966 Honorary Member of the Aerospace Medical Association
Daniel and Florence Guggenheim International Astronautics Award of the International Academy of Astronautics

1967 Space Flight Award by the American Astronautical Society

1969 NASA Distinguished Service Medals (Apollo 8 and Apollo 11)
One of the first 10 persons installed in the National Space Hall of Fame
Rockefeller Public Service "At Large" Award

1970 Honorary doctor of laws from the New Mexico State University ASME Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

1971 James Watt International Medal from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers National Aviation Club Award for Achievement

1972 Robert R. Collier Trophy of the National Aeronautic Association and the National Aviation Club

1974 Member of the National Academy of Sciences

1975 One of the 35 space pioneers inducted into the International Space Hall of Fame